Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,020
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Digital Cable Box intercept broadcast signal

    Im probably wrong but if i brought a digital cable box from home would i be able to get cable if the signal is already being sent from source?

  2. #2
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    28,547
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    If your box just happens to be set up to decrypt the cable TV system to which you attach it. Very, very unlikely.

  3. #3
    Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Not going to work unless the cable system in your area does ClearQAM, or unencrypted broadcast.

  4. #4
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,107
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    No you will not be able to do it. If it is older digital box (MPEG 2) its authentication with the cable company will be based on Receiver ID. The Receiver ID must be enabled in CAS (Conditional Access System) at your local cable company, in order for that receiver to decrypt the signal (get the decryption codeword). Some newer MPEG-2 boxes, and all MPEG-4 H264 boxes (also called HDTV boxes) use smart cards, which again, must be enabled at cable company's CAS in order for the receiver/box to decrypt the signal.

    So the simple answer is - NO. Digital cable in the DR is put in place to prevent people from getting free cable, not to allow it.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,020
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Its a Digital Cablebox Explorer 1840 Scientific Atlantic. My buddy works as tech here in Canada maybe he can find the CAS for the DR cable company.. The only reason I want to look into it, im only at my place in the DR 4 months out of the year and my development only has yearly cable contracts.. Thanks for the info!!!

  6. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Are you seriously suggesting your friend help you do something illegal in DR in a public forum like this?

    Interesting.....

    By the way.... CAS works just like prepaid phone service in theory; no funds, no auth. You would need someone at Tricom to authenticate your box and channels. Good luck with that.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,020
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Omar_NYC View Post
    Are you seriously suggesting your friend help you do something illegal in DR in a public forum like this?

    Interesting.....

    By the way.... CAS works just like prepaid phone service in theory; no funds, no auth. You would need someone at Tricom to authenticate your box and channels. Good luck with that.
    Not really, I dont want to do something illegal in the DR, but I cant find a service that allows cable one month at a time.. Ill get on that corrupting a tricom employee though if I can..

  8. #8
    Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Funny guy

    You can always get rabbit ears... but Teleantillas doesn't really have programming worth watching

  9. #9
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    36,281
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Omar_NYC View Post
    You can always get rabbit ears...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •