Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Gold
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5,669
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Internet in the whole house

    For those interested:

    I asked / wondered and was skeptic a while ago if this could / would work in a house here. Well it does.

    I have now Internet in all the house wherever I have an electric outlet. This is NOT wireless but a wireless extender can be attached...

    Amazon.com: D-Link Powerline AV Network Adapter Kit (DHP-307AV): Electronics

  2. Likes Bigocean, bilko liked this post
  3. #2
    Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    235
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by caribmike View Post
    For those interested:

    I asked / wondered and was skeptic a while ago if this could / would work in a house here. Well it does.

    I have now Internet in all the house wherever I have an electric outlet. This is NOT wireless but a wireless extender can be attached...

    Amazon.com: D-Link Powerline AV Network Adapter Kit (DHP-307AV): Electronics

    I have this as well and works with inverter no problem but I read that will not work installed on power strips or ups (never checked though).

  4. #3
    Gold
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5,669
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You right. Forgot to mention that. Well, it does NOT work when you plug it in into an UPS directly. But it does work with a power strip / extension. I tried and I have it set up with it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigocean View Post
    I have this as well and works with inverter no problem but I read that will not work installed on power strips or ups (never checked though).

  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    35,529
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by caribmike View Post
    You right. Forgot to mention that. Well, it does NOT work when you plug it in into an UPS directly. But it does work with a power strip / extension. I tried and I have it set up with it.
    Interesting concept, must investigate further...

    Thanks-

  6. #5
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    28,233
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigocean View Post
    I have this as well and works with inverter no problem but I read that will not work installed on power strips or ups (never checked though).
    Sine wave inverter or the normal "square wave" inverter?

    Power line connected products from X10 don't work well on square wave inverters (which are called "modified sine wave").

  7. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    235
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by windeguy View Post
    Sine wave inverter or the normal "square wave" inverter?

    Power line connected products from X10 don't work well on square wave inverters (which are called "modified sine wave").
    Sine wave inverter in my case.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •