Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Bank?

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Which Bank?

I spend about 3 months a year in the DR and I plan to open a Dominican bank account next time I travel there. I'm just looking for ease of access to funds while I am in the DR and to have a little back up account that could earn some interest while I am away. I stay on the North Coast so there would have to be branches in towns in the area from Sosua to Cabrera.

Are certain banks easier for foreigners (USA) to do business with? Can I open a joint account with my wife so either of us can make withdrawals? What else should I be aware of before I choose a bank?

I have been dragging my feet on this for a few years because it has been hard to get good first hand information on banking in the DR and I did not know anyone who had opened an account. Some threads I've seen about banks seem out of date so I am asking my fellow DR1ers for help based on their recent experiences. I know everyone will have their own favorite, but all suggestions, comments, and ideas will be used to help me make a decision. Thanks.

bob

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

If your on the north coast in Sosua and Caberette I have no problems with Banco santa Cruz. They have branches in both towns and I have a dollar and peso account. very friendly good service and they speak english also. Other banks maybe just as good, just telling you from my experience.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Ban reserves offers great finance on cars! You won't do better if credit is your outlook!

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

We as well as our clients use Banco Santa Cruz as well. They seem to work well with the expat community and as stated above speak English. Have never had a problem with them on accounts or my CC which is with them as well.
    Very good service.

Bob K

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like