Residencia Permante renewal: my first step (SD)

Castle

Silver
Sep 1, 2012
So the day I didn't want to arrive is here: time for me to renew my Permanent Residence. As a 12-year resident, I still think all this new process is just stupid, but WTH...

So, I arrived at Migracion at about 8am, they told me I needed two copies each of my passport, cedula and Residencia in order for me to be "approved" to pay for the medical exams :rolleyes:

Got the copies (had to wait a few minutes for the "muchacho de las copias" to get to work, 50 pesos). I introduced my papers in "ventanilla 3", they took my current residence id and told me to sit tight. After some 20 minutes I was called to the same "ventanilla" and they asked for the RD$ 4,500 and told me to go to Clinica Gomez Pati?o for the medical exams. So they don't do those anymore at Migracion. Oh, well.

Off I went to Clinica Gomez Pati?o, they drew my blood, took a sample of my urine (with door open, "es supervisado", and then sent me to the Emergency area to get the X-Rays. Here I was thinking I was safe from the old piece of crap they used at Migracion to get the X-Rays. But I was wrong, as the one in Clinica Gomez Pati?o seems to be of the same fabrication batch. They X-Rayed me with this Enigma machine and sent me on my way. 10 working days to go back to migracion with my receipt.

All in all, it was a pretty straightforward procedure, it took me about 2 hours including the commuting to the Clinica. By 10 am I was done with it. I just hope they don't come back to me with some monkey business next time. I was amused by the huge business this young lady doctor (Ivonne Whatshername) at Clinica Gomez Pati?o must be doing, since she's the only one officially approved to do the exams. Good for her.

CG

Bronze
Sep 16, 2004
Thanks for the post, happy to hear that it's relatively painless.

Kipling333

Bronze
Jan 12, 2010