Shipping from DR

ltf13

Sep 2, 2013
Hello,
I found a lot of information about receiving packages in DR. I just moved here and am curious if to ship packages out of DR do we need to use a private company as well or is the country's postal service reliable? If need to be through a private company, does someone have a recommendation?
Thanks in advance!

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
I do not know of any private companies outside of Federal Express and UPS that ship from the DR. VERY expensive.

Inposdom, the DR Postal service, has worked for some people, but I have no experience using them to send items.

Many people have reconsidered having businesses here, like an EBay seller for example, since there is no great option for shipping from the DR. If you find one, please let us know.

Castle

Silver
Sep 1, 2012
I do not know of any private companies outside of Federal Express and UPS that ship from the DR. VERY expensive.

DHL, also. But also very expensive.
Some forward couriers, the ones you use to receive packages, can also offer you a small discount with those main couriers mentioned above, but it's very small, like 5% if I remember correctly.
So I guess it depends on the size and value of what you are sending. Little package, little value, I would risk it using INPOSDOM. Big package, big value, I would play it safe and fork whatever it's needed.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
I did not bring DHL into the picture because they are one shipper that has had a lot of problems. Is there service record now good again?

ltf13

Sep 2, 2013
Thank you all so much for the responses. I imagined it wasn't going to be possible but wanted to make sure. Thanks! :)

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
we used inposdom once and it worked. expensive but still cheaper than courier companies.