Looking for homebrew information

BigTex

Sep 8, 2013
My wife and I are looking into moving from Colorado to the north coast and I have one major reservation.
What about my homebrew???

I have a few questions:
1) Is it legal in the DR?
2) Is there a supplier for malted grains? (I'm an all-grain brewer)
3) Is there any supplier for liquid yeast?
4) Is there any homebrew clubs in/near Puerto Plata?

Nov 25, 2008
1. yes if its for your usage only, not to sell thast another problem
2. malt supplier, not in the sense like in the states, will have to scrounge different stores to find what you want and most likely not the quality you want.
3. dont know about liquid yeast
4. doubtful for clubs, but will find lots of people who want to be taste judge.

Best best is to be friends with someone who works in a rum plant to see where the company gets its supplies, for sure they import the raw materials.

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
BigTex, I graduated from the American Brewers Guild "Craft Brewers Apprenticeship" Program. My goal was to add local brew to my bar in FL. It was clear the local gubmint wanted no part of it so I never got the permits.

I have the full course outline, textbooks, DVD's, class notes, etc., I'm willing to sell if you're interested.

the gorgon

Platinum
Sep 16, 2010
BigTex, I graduated from the American Brewers Guild "Craft Brewers Apprenticeship" Program. My goal was to add local brew to my bar in FL. It was clear the local gubmint wanted no part of it so I never got the permits.

I have the full course outline, textbooks, DVD's, class notes, etc., I'm willing to sell if you're interested.

CB, you did not tell me you are a moonshine guy...can i see the still when i make my next visit?

julypena

Sep 10, 2013
Hi Cobraboy,

I'm a hombrewer based in Santo Domingo, I'm interested in the full "Craft Brewers Apprenticeship" material, can you DM me with the cost? Where are you based in the DR?

Also, are you homebrewing here?

Cheers.