Volunteer Work Available in Bavaro Area

J.Baby

Dec 23, 2012
I will be in Bavaro this winter again, from after Christmas until after Semana Santa. I would love to do more to contribute to the DR this year, besides a strong increase in Brugal sales. Does anyone know of any organizations which require volunteers in the Bavaro area? I'd be willing to go as far as Veron or Higuey, although I'd be on the bus, as I do not own a car yet.

I am good with animals, children and people in general. My Spanish skills are still pretty basic, but I am studying away and hoping to improve more this winter. I am a first year English major, so I have a good grasp of English grammar and I have some experience with special needs children as I am the mother to DD son.

I really would like to do something to contribute to the country that I love so much, and in the meantime keep myself occupied. I would pursue a regular job despite the obvious limitations in pay, although I am wary of potentially taking a job away from a local that really needs it.

If anyone has any ideas or knows of any organizations that require a hand please let me know.

frank12

Gold
Sep 6, 2011
I don't want to hijack your thread, but i'm also looking for similar volunteer work this winter on the north coast.

1. I'm also good with animals...as long as they do not bite or throw poop at me. If they bite me, i will not hesitate to bite back. I have a pet monkey at home, and i have found the only way to control her and put her in her place is to bite her back harder. Once i lock on, i am like a pitbull, only stronger.

2. I'm also good with children between the ages of 1 month to 6 months...before they can walk, talk non-sense, and throw poop & food at the walls. I'm not so good with people in general, however, i do work well around people who do not mind taking orders and do not talk back. I find i work better around deaf people.