What Bank you trust more?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Popular is the best Dominican bank. Every year they are recognized as one of the best and most well managed banks in Latin America. They are also the largest bank with branches in so many places that you are never far away from one.

Banreservas was founded by Trujillo, its owned by the government and is one of the few truly successful state owned companies. I say that the day you hear that Banreservas has failed is the day you can count that the DR itself is done.

Another bank I trust is Leon, mostly because the owners are some of the most serious business people in the country, but a few months ago there were rumors that they wanted to get out of the banking business. I don't know what has happened since then.

There are other small banks that have good reputations, such as Santa Cruz, but their problem is that they don't have many branches. If you are frequently travelling, this could be a problem.

And then there are banks like Peravia that I wouldn't go near under any circumstances. Sketchy owners and all of that.

pauleast

*** I love DR1 ***
Jan 29, 2012
Popular is the best Dominican bank. Every year they are recognized as one of the best and most well managed banks in Latin America. They are also the largest bank with branches in so many places that you are never far away from one.

Banreservas was founded by Trujillo, its owned by the government and is one of the few truly successful state owned companies. I say that the day you hear that Banreservas has failed is the day you can count that the DR itself is done.

Another bank I trust is Leon, mostly because the owners are some of the most serious business people in the country, but a few months ago there were rumors that they wanted to get out of the banking business. I don't know what has happened since then.