I know this is covered but I might be in a different catagory.

Stephen Brush

Nov 29, 2013
Hey everyone who answers my questions and thank you for taking the time out of your day for the response.

I am planning next year to live in DR for 6-12 months. I am currently learning computer programming and attending a class back in the states when im ready to take it. I am a contractor in the middle east, background military and in the next few months Ill be vacationing in DR to give it a feel.

im 25, single, I been learning spanish. I can read and write it better than I can speak. I am not dumb about living in another country. I know not to act stupid. I been reading a lot on these forums and others.

Lifestyle: Im very easy to please, I dont party every night maybe once a week or once every 2 weeks. Im very much into working out and building my future. I am trying to see if staying in DR for the time frame if its cheaper than staying back in the states. Of course I love the women.

I was thinking of a budget of 11-1200 a month
1 bedroom apt
internet
food/water
little entertainment
gym

sayanora

Silver
Feb 22, 2012
You can do it if you move to a normal city like Santiago or La Vega. If you move to Sosua or Cabarete you will have to live in rat infested conditions at that budget. A weird thing in the DR that you will notice, 1 bedroom apartments are not common at all, I rarely see them at all. I think this has to do with most children staying with their parents until they get married or sometimes even until their parents croak. Growing up in the US it's one of the odd cultural things I've noticed here but I've grown to understand why.