Playa Dorada Golf - Caddie Question

FredBlogs

Jun 18, 2009
As a resident of Puerto Plata I receive the resident's green fee rate at PD.

I have recently 'partnered' with a new caddie who is enthusiastic and knowledgeable, however, he tells me that as a resident I could bypass paying the caddie fee to the caddie master and pay him direct, plus his tip on top.

Any other regulars heard this story or use this method, or is he trying to pull the wool?

Anyone know how much, if anything, of the caddie fee goes to the caddie?

Thanks.

FB.

tflea

Bronze
Jun 11, 2006
Fred, I can only tell you that we always pay the caddie directly and only tell the caddie master which guy we want, but don't give him any money. That way the caddie can pay whatever fee they pay and keep the rest without telling the amount he was given. The sad part is that Dominicans don't have to take a caddie but gringos do, which is absurdly blatant discrimination.
We've bitc*ed loudly but it's fallen on deaf ears so far. They also won't let us be full members, although a couple of guys we know, gringos, are members, but for a long time, like 10+ years or so. Management there is thoroughly ignorant of customer service and totally lack creativity in increasing their revenues. No more drink cart circling around for example, or a little sandwich, hot dog or snack to grab at the turn. We'd all love to have a nearby alternative, but don't see that happening anytime soon. Maybe Lifestyle or someone will put a bunch of money into the Costambar 9-holer one day, but it's now practically unplayable. :(

PaGuyinDr

Sep 2, 2013
As a resident of Puerto Plata I receive the resident's green fee rate at PD.

I have recently 'partnered' with a new caddie who is enthusiastic and knowledgeable, however, he tells me that as a resident I could bypass paying the caddie fee to the caddie master and pay him direct, plus his tip on top.

Any other regulars heard this story or use this method, or is he trying to pull the wool?