Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Electrician in Santiago

    Can anyone recommend a good/fair priced electrician in Santiago please

    Its to lay in a 220 feed

    Many thanks

    Paul

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1,194
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Is this something you cannot do yourself? From what i have seen, seems that the DR does not go by any code at all...what is this for, ac unit? overall, why not check with a local electrical store, see who they use maybe even check with la serina since they sell AC units and/or Inverters with free installations, see who they can recommend...I never lived in Santiago, so I have no connections there...no pun intended..

    Anthony

  3. #3
    Gold
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5,088
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Changing a door knob is a do-it-yourself job. Running 220 is not.

  4. Likes waytogo, kampinge liked this post
  5. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skynet View Post
    Is this something you cannot do yourself? From what i have seen, seems that the DR does not go by any code at all...what is this for, ac unit? overall, why not check with a local electrical store, see who they use maybe even check with la serina since they sell AC units and/or Inverters with free installations, see who they can recommend...I never lived in Santiago, so I have no connections there...no pun intended..

    Anthony
    its for a friend on her own, its for 220 rated units that came from Chile like freezer andkitchen apliances

  6. #5
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Im in the UK but wouldnt have a clue even if I was there - she just had a guy quote her something astronomical - and doesnt have any other numbers to call

  7. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1,194
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Ah okay...its not so bad...i asked if you can do yourself since running the cable is very easy..can go under ground, or use conduit or PVC...once setup, call the electric company to hook it up at the pole..This is something I could do, but I don't have a license and I would think it will need to be inspected...But again, this is the DR..often wonder if anyone goes by code...In the Morning, i just wet my feet and touch my fridge, behold, better than coffee...They certainly don't believe in Ground wire...So again, if you don't get any help here, have her go to Serina or an electrical store, inquire who they use...Also try a few Inverter stores, sell batteries as well of course..I'm sure their techs can do such an install as well, just another idea...

    Anthony



    Quote Originally Posted by Freemo View Post
    its for a friend on her own, its for 220 rated units that came from Chile like freezer andkitchen apliances

  8. #7
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skynet View Post
    Ah okay...its not so bad...i asked if you can do yourself since running the cable is very easy..can go under ground, or use conduit or PVC...once setup, call the electric company to hook it up at the pole..This is something I could do, but I don't have a license and I would think it will need to be inspected...But again, this is the DR..often wonder if anyone goes by code...In the Morning, i just wet my feet and touch my fridge, behold, better than coffee...They certainly don't believe in Ground wire...So again, if you don't get any help here, have her go to Serina or an electrical store, inquire who they use...Also try a few Inverter stores, sell batteries as well of course..I'm sure their techs can do such an install as well, just another idea...

    Anthony
    Thanks Anthony

    Is that La Sirena ?

  9. #8
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Legal ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Freemo View Post
    Thanks Anthony

    Is that La Sirena ?
    She's worried that if the elctric company doesn't do the work it will be deemed illegal and subject to being ripped out ???? Is that feasible ?

  10. #9
    Gold
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,376
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Freemo View Post
    Can anyone recommend a good/fair priced electrician in Santiago please

    Its to lay in a 220 feed

    Many thanks

    Paul
    To lay a feed? Do you mean to bring 220 into the house or to run a wire from the main electrical panel in the house to the appliances?

  11. #10
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1,194
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Yes Paul, La Serina...your welcome, no problem


    BB, yes, looks like his friend (female) is wanting to add a few appliances etc...they need A-Z...I would imagine that there is 220 at the pole already, but I don't know what Code they go by here otherwise I would just offer to do it...

    Hopefully you can point them in a good direction..


    Anthony



    Quote Originally Posted by bigbird View Post
    To lay a feed? Do you mean to bring 220 into the house or to run a wire from the main electrical panel in the house to the appliances?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •