Preferred Airport for North Coast Tourists

What airport do you use to visit the North Coast? (Read the first post prior voting)

• Other (explain)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
For the purpose of this poll, the North Coast is defined as the coasts of the following provinces:

- Monte Cristi
- Puerto Plata
- Espaillat
- Mar?a Trinidad S?nchez (including the Nagua area)

Despite Las Terrenas technically faces the north and could be considered "north coast," the entire Saman? peninsula is excluded in this poll.

The main tourist areas are Cofres? (Puerto Plata), Playa Dorada (Puerto Plata), Sos?a, Cabarete, R?o San Juan, and Cabrera. I might have missed one or two, but I think I got them all.

Those of you that want to air a complaint in this thread about any particular experience through a Dominican airport, please be aware that the following airports are privately owned and administered:

- Cibao Intl (owned by an independent company that exists solely for its administration)

- La Romana Intl (owned by Florida Crystals from Florida, USA; owners of Central Romana and Casa de Campo)

- Punta Cana Intl (owned by Grupo Puntacana)

All other international airports are owned by AERODOM, a public (government) - private consortium.

Any issue dealing with migraci?n and/or aduanas, you are dealing with government agencies even in the privately owned but open to the public airports (non-AERODOM).

Last edited:

reilleyp

Dec 12, 2006
For the purpose of this poll, the North Coast is defined as the coasts of the following provinces:

- Monte Cristi
- Puerto Plata
- Espaillat
- Mar?a Trinidad S?nchez (including the Nagua area)

Despite Las Terrenas technically faces the north and could be considered "north coast," the entire Saman? peninsula is excluded in this poll.