Haiti on the cover of Conde Nast traveler Spain

GWOZOZO

Bronze
Dec 7, 2011
427520_280464105359211_100001868727007_669833_499760983_n.jpg

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Let me guess, many Haitians disapprove of this relationship due solely for racial reasons.

I remember when a light-skin mulatto Haitian woman was elected a few years ago to represent the country in a beauty pageant and the discontent among the Haitians was palpable. This relationship has probably been scrutinized beyond belief!

Regarding the cover on Conde Nast, I hope its intention works! Tourism is one of the few sectors that unquestionably is highly promising for Haiti's development at least for the medium term.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I guess I spoke too soon!

[video=youtube;Ql9aZ1CI3eE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ql9aZ1CI3eE[/video]

That video was uploaded in May 2013.

I often wonder if Haiti's mulatto/black issue had any repercussion in their treatment of the DR in diplomatic and other types of relationships. I will start investigating this, especially if there was a different treatment towards DR depending if the Haitian leader was mulatto or black, because in Haiti itself this seems to have been of paramount in importance and often times was the source of political and social conflicts.

Its even said that Baby Doc (dictator Duvalier's son) lost the support of the black masses the moment he married a very light-skinned mulatto Haitian woman, and this alienation which eventually made it easy for the coup against him to succeed, was based solely on the color issue.

GWOZOZO

Bronze
Dec 7, 2011
I remember when a light-skin mulatto Haitian woman was elected a few years ago to represent the country in a beauty pageant and the discontent among the Haitians was palpable. This relationship has probably been scrutinized beyond belief!

Her being a mulatto was not the issue.