Why I think I'll be leave the DR

Status
Not open for further replies.

silkesmo

Jan 17, 2014
DISCLAIMER:
I know that writing a post like this opens me up to ridicule from the jaded and those who think that they are funny, but honestly this post is not for anyone but myself. It's 6:30am and despite my having a few drinks (cuba libre) last night, I find myself wide awake FRUSTRATED about recent incidents in what I once thought was paradise. HONESTLY, I just need to vent and as I am a writer this is what I do.

When I first visited this country last April I immediately fell in love with the country as a whole. Granted my perspective was that of one who was coming as a tourist from the US, but I am well traveled and have lived outside of the US and brought more of a world view with me. Obviously the country environmentally-wise is a paradise. Food literally lying in the street ready to eat. The beautiful birds and trees, it's just breath-taking. Then the Dominican culture, a bit slower than what I was used to, even in the south, but people seemed happy. I had never experienced a place where people had so little and yet were so free and happy. Even in my voyages through Africa and Asia I hadn't encountered this. The closest I came was certain pueblas in Mexico, but even there they hadn't reached this level.

Upon doing my do-diligence, I returned to the country a few months later this time to the other side of the island. I absolutely loathed Santo Domingo. Though I found the pace to be much more what I am used to, the humidity and noise, coupled with not being able to walk down the street without being molested by literally everyone was very annoying. I also found the people to be a lot more rude and ungrateful than in the North Coast. I chalked my bad experience to just being Dominican city life. City life is always different no matter where you go. TANGENT: why does noone in the country say 'please' or 'thank you'