Safest Vehicle for DR

SKing

Silver
Nov 22, 2007
I have been going back and forth on buying a vehicle in DR. The reason I haven't done so yet is that I feel that the safest thing to have would be a HUGE SUV and I have been saving. Something like an Armada, Sequoia, or Infiniti QX 56. These are all gas guzzlers and extremely big but I had been feeling like I could trade that extra gas cost for the feeling of safety. That my family would more than likely survive an accident in one of them rather than a mid-size or minivan.

Am I thinking correctly? I see that the Honda Odyssey is really nice, and so are CR-Vs and Hyundai Santa Fe. But I'm wondering if I should just stick to my oirginal thinking regarding the big full-size SUVs. Are the mid-size or minivans enough to withstand a collision for people to actually get away alive? We all wear seatbelts and I'm a good driver but the mid-sizes and especially the minivans seem very low to the ground. I feel very safe when I am in something like an Armada, driving around looking down on cars.

What do you guys think?

SHALENA

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
mid-size if you ask me... BIG SUV's here are tough to drive , narrow road & big car.

PlayaCaribe 2 is an expert.

Honda Pilot, etc.... normal size is big here.... Suburbans and Tahoes are out of place

keep thinking

manny20

Oct 2, 2012
If you don't care about gas!go a SUV large or small you'll find it useful when you take your family to the campos or rios..when I go I always rent something with 4x4,crv,montero ect.its good to have

JMB773

Silver
Nov 4, 2011
This is what you need Sking if you want to feel safe.

A Mercedes Benz G550!!!!

Not only will you and your family feel safe, but you will look GOOD!!! feeling safe.

BTW If you do not want the G 550 look at the new 2013 Ford Escape they are really nice, much better then the CRV and Santa Fe IMO.

tmnyc

Oct 19, 2006
Bradley Fighting Vehicle (BFV)