Economic Sanctions

jabejuventus

Bronze
Feb 15, 2013
Will and/or how will the sanctions by the USA and the EU against Russia and vice versa affect the Dominican economy? Should/do we care?

Aug 6, 2006
Economic sanctions seem to have helped force Milosovic out of office in Serbia, and they have caused Iran to come to the table. I don't see where the sanctions they suggest putting on Russia are likely to be more than a mild inconvenience.

malko

Campesino !! :)
Jan 12, 2013
All depends if one doesnt mind surviving on a diet of cabbage and (beet)roots.....

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Will and/or how will the sanctions by the USA and the EU against Russia and vice versa affect the Dominican economy? Should/do we care?
The DR will not be greatly affected by this. Our commercial relationship with Russia is practically null. The only good thing Russia was providing the DR was an ever increasing amount of tourists and that's where the DR might feel it. On the other hand, the DR is quite far from Russia, so its possible that the average Russian tourist is of upper middle class or higher, the segments that are most likely to fare better in an economic situation as Russia is facing right now.

jabejuventus

Bronze
Feb 15, 2013
The DR will not be greatly affected by this. Our commercial relationship with Russia is practically null. The only good thing Russia was providing the DR was an ever increasing amount of tourists and that's where the DR might feel it. On the other hand, the DR is quite far from Russia, so its possible that the average Russian tourist is of upper middle class or higher, the segments that are most likely to fare better in an economic situation as Russia is facing right now.

I believe that Russia is one of the top 3 oil producers of oil. Don't you think that barrel prices may go up and in this way affect already high gas prices here?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003