new girl about to move to a new world

daniela618

Apr 22, 2014
Hola I am new to this site and wanted to introduce myself. I'm Daniela, and I am a young black woman who is about to move to Santo Domingo in less than 2 months. I have a degree in Spanish, so there will be no language barriers lol. I'm looking to immerse myself in the culture completely. I have traveled to the Dominican Republic before and was repeatedly mistaken for a Dominican myself, I guess this is an advantage lol. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on a decent place to stay in the capital? I am looking at some places in Malecon and Zona Colonial. Also any advice on things I may need to pack?
Gracias

May 12, 2005
Welcome to DR1. So you are moving to Santo Domingo in 2 months but haven't figured out where you will be living? What is the reason for the move? What is your monthly budget.

Aug 6, 2006
Probably an ample supply of your favorite hair and skin products, toothpaste and other sundries will come in handy. Buy them on sale if you can. They are harder to find and more expensive in the DR, and are generally not on sale. Rechargeable batteries and a battery charger, they are expensive and hard to find. Also, battery powered lights, preferably the kind with LED bulbs. Electricity can go out, especially outside the larger cities. Should you be likely to ride on a motorcycle, such as a motoconcho, a helmet might be a good idea, as it could save your life.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
Just bring MONEY, and a LOT Of IT!!!!!
3 times what you THINK you will need.
Everything is available here for a price, even USA products.
From "Kraft Cheese", to "Right Guard Deodorant", to "Gatorade", EVERYTHING!
My question is what are you going to do here, and how will you support yourself, AND, are you "For Real"?
We get a lot of phonies here!
Cris CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC

JMB773

Silver
Nov 4, 2011