Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it possible?

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Is it possible?

Hi everyone!

Really need your input!

I spent the first 12 years of my life in the Dominican Republic (Santo Domingo), lived 1 year in Canada and then moved to the Netherlands. Now, married with 3 children, really yearning for another way of life. My father was Dutch and my mother is Dominican and lives in Bonao.
    I really love the freedom of living in the DR. In a couple of hours you're in the mountains, beach, wherever. My children could experience another way of life. With more family around and more help for me. I don't like the feeling of raising my children alone...I believe it takes a village!

I'm an educational psychologist (intelligence testing, dyslexia, giftedness, etc), energy therapist and also a life and business coach. I run 2 private practices. My husband is a mechanical engineer with his own company.

I think the question is...am I just dreaming or is it really possible for us to make the move? I'm thinking of course of the children and schooling. But also, how would I make a living there? Are there jobs available for someonle like me? And for my husband? Would we need to set up businesses there or are we employable? I'm fluent in Spanish, Dutch and English. My husband is fluent in Dutch, English and German.

I do not want to live in Santo Domingo...too crowded for us, so we are thinking of the Puerto Plata/Sosua area.

You're welcome to look at our websites, but they are in Dutch, to get an impression of what we do...

My practice for children and parents: Kinderpraktijk Wijchen Welkom bij Kinderpraktijk Wijchen voor begeleiding en diagnostiek or look at: www.facebook.com/kinderpraktijkwijchen
    My practice for adults: www.praktijkbg.nl or look at: www.facebook.com/PraktijkBG
    My husband's company: Stako Snijtechniek - Home

Thank you all in advance for any advice/input/help,
    Karin

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like