120lbs Yellow Fin Tuna in Cabarete

frank12

Gold
Sep 6, 2011
[video=youtube;FK-iwiuaQk8]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FK-iwiuaQk8&feature=share&list=UUwqGtCbKPC0n50nraMPtNCA[/video]

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006
What time is dinner? I tale mine in steaks on the grill. I will bring the Presidente, you like jumbos, bien fria?

frank12

Gold
Sep 6, 2011
I caught the Yellow Tail from my bar stool at O'Shay's. True story!

She put up a hell of fight. Yellow Fin Tail can be very feisty. Trust me. I'm a professional.

Frank

Olly

Bronze
Mar 12, 2007
Frank,

You always fight for a bit of tail - yellow fin or Blue !

Just Olly this time !

frank12

Gold
Sep 6, 2011
Now i have to tell you the rest of this story. After the fish was cut open, my girlfriend, who is Russian, was concerned with obtaining only one thing from the fish: Milt. She took it home and fried it up. She and I--and our neighbor's cat--sat around eating it. It was the first time i have ever tried it:
20140511_192149_zpsbe835f39.jpg

She is holding the Milt from that 120lbs Tuna. What is Milt?

"Milt or soft roe also refers to the male genitalia of fish when they contain sperm, used as food.

In many cuisines, milt is served fried.

In Russian cuisine, herring milt (молока, "Moloka") pickled the same way as the rest of the fish, but eaten separately, sometimes combined with pickled herring roe.

In Japanese cuisine, the milt (白子 shirako 'white children') of cod (tara), anglerfish (anko), salmon (sake), squid (ika) and pufferfish (fugu) are a delicacy.

In Sicilian cuisine, the milt of tuna is called "Lattume" and is used as a typical pasta topping."

Milt - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

In Romanian cuisine, the milt of carp and other fresh water fish is called "Lapți" (from the Latin word "Lactes") and is usually fried.

jstarebel

Silver
Oct 4, 2013