Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    On Vacation!
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Managing in the DR

I have had some experiences that I want to understand. Your informed comments please.

I had a small welding task that I asked someone to do. They said they could do it. Here it is: a 1' x 1' L with a 45 degree brace. Made from 3/4 iron tube. I prepared detailed (!) dimensional Drawings. I got Back a 12" x 13" L with. Nothing near 45 degrees. And 3 holes for mounting not the 4 I specified.

I should add that I specified 3 units be made and got 4. I didn't ask for paint but I something black. I designed it to drain water naturally but I got some kind of paper plugs.

I am not angry about this and I want to prepare for a more complex welding job (a trellis).

I want to understand the reasons. Was it: they could not read BC they needed glasses or they are unable to follow the rules or ...

how can I manage them to get what I want in the future? MicroManage them? Or ...

OR do it myself.

2. Likes IslandDreaming liked this post
    Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by tommeyers View Post
    I have had some experiences that I want to understand. Your informed comments please.

I had a small welding task that I asked someone to do. They said they could do it. Here it is: a 1' x 1' L with a 45 degree brace. Made from 3/4 iron tube. I prepared detailed (!) dimensional Drawings. I got Back a 12" x 13" L with. Nothing near 45 degrees. And 3 holes for mounting not the 4 I specified.

I should add that I specified 3 units be made and got 4. I didn't ask for paint but I something black. I designed it to drain water naturally but I got some kind of paper plugs.

I am not angry about this and I want to prepare for a more complex welding job (a trellis).

I want to understand the reasons. Was it: they could not read BC they needed glasses or they are unable to follow the rules or ...

how can I manage them to get what I want in the future? MicroManage them? Or ...