Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default High speed internet in Sosua hills

    what can you recommend for Sosua hills?

    Need reliable high speed internet

    if there are combo's to be made with mobile phone subscriptions, that would be fine too. I know claro has some bundles but they work with dishes?

    any tips welcome

    Thx in advance

    Tc

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    708
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Depends on what is offered in your area. I have cable internet service...whenever it rains hard bye bye internet

    I always keep a Claro Blackberry as backup internet. Just activate the service in a BB, pop the chip into my android phone and use wifi tethering. It is unlimited and is very fast. Maybe I should just **** can the cable altogether hummmmm

  3. #3
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PeteyPablo View Post
    Depends on what is offered in your area. I have cable internet service...whenever it rains hard bye bye internet

    I always keep a Claro Blackberry as backup internet. Just activate the service in a BB, pop the chip into my android phone and use wifi tethering. It is unlimited and is very fast. Maybe I should just **** can the cable altogether hummmmm
    Was thinking of that too, just do not know if i have a good connection, still have to test Claro and Orange in those hills.

    Btw, Tekcom still offering internet services? Anyone knows?

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Sosua hill (La Mulata) on Claro land line

    Now on Sosua hill (La Mulata) on Claro land line



    but the speed and connection is not stable all time

  5. #5
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    730
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MpJuly View Post
    Now on Sosua hill (La Mulata) on Claro land line



    but the speed and connection is not stable all time
    1 ms ping? Unbelievable! Even to their own server. Where exactly in La Mulata? 1 or 2?

  6. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MpJuly View Post
    Now on Sosua hill (La Mulata) on Claro land line



    but the speed and connection is not stable all time
    that aint that bad except it is not stable

    i am 5.1km uphill on el choco , just for the record

  7. #7
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    28,220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Keep in mind CLARO is really clueless in this area. I had them for years and was paying for 3 Mb/s downloads. I was always in the 2.X Mb/s range but it was OK. Then one day, the speed fell to around 1 Mb/s while I still paid for 3.

    Two technician visits and mulitple tech support calls later they told me I was too far from the central station to get more than 1 Mb/s. This after having 3 Mb/s for 10 years with neither me nor the central station moving.

    I switched to a cable modem and even dropped the local telephone with Claro and now use Vonage world plan which has minutes to DR cell phones and includes DR land lines. Way better than dealing with Claro.

  8. Likes theconsul liked this post
  9. #8
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    near las Canas

    Quote Originally Posted by Bred View Post
    1 ms ping? Unbelievable! Even to their own server. Where exactly in La Mulata? 1 or 2?

  10. #9
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I had many problem to get this speed here, i'm closer to Sosua than you, I think that for el choco is impossible, check for a cable solution, mobil solution is depending the signal strenght and how many use the service at the same time.

    Quote Originally Posted by theconsul View Post
    that aint that bad except it is not stable

    i am 5.1km uphill on el choco , just for the record

  11. Likes theconsul liked this post
  12. #10
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    438
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    They do the same for me only 2 weeks after the subscription, I reported the problem, they said me the same thing, but the problem seem solved now...

    Wait and see....


    Quote Originally Posted by windeguy View Post
    Keep in mind CLARO is really clueless in this area. I had them for years and was paying for 3 Mb/s downloads. I was always in the 2.X Mb/s range but it was OK. Then one day, the speed fell to around 1 Mb/s while I still paid for 3.

    Two technician visits and mulitple tech support calls later they told me I was too far from the central station to get more than 1 Mb/s. This after having 3 Mb/s for 10 years with neither me nor the central station moving.

    I switched to a cable modem and even dropped the local telephone with Claro and now use Vonage world plan which has minutes to DR cell phones and includes DR land lines. Way better than dealing with Claro.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •