the paradox of Dominican and Haitian relations.

John Danzell

May 19, 2014
www.facebook.com
i am interested to hear from the experiences of those with extensive experience on the ground there.

As i studied the complex history on Hispaniola, and the effects that it had on the modern culture of the two countries and their views toward each other. Of significant interest to me is how events that created division and spite between the two nations, also created solidarity between the people sharing that island. I understand that there is a significant racial identity conundrum in DR and associated racial tensions from both historical conflicts and foreign political influence. I am also aware that their is a portion of Dominican society that is strongly anti-Haitian, and in addition often anti-black by association. But interestingly i have never personally met Dominicans of this extreme perspective, instead many of the Dominicans that i know consider Haitians to be other poor people sharing their island and their struggles in the challenges of poverty. I also have Haitian friends, that have Dominicans on the island that they consider family. I have Dominican friends that consider some Haitians to be their closest friends in the world. But i have also spoken with Haitians that are strongly anti-Dominican, especially in the aftermath of the recent political decisions in DR affecting Haitian descendants. Lastly i watched the 2005 documentary entitled "the price of sugar," and it showed poor Dominicans voicing the type of anti-Haitian language that i considered to be more commonly be held by some wealthy Dominican elites. I just think the subject is very interesting. if you haven't seen "Black in Latin America: Episode 1 Dominican Republic and Haiti - the roots of division" it is extremely interesting! i am interested what you guys and girls have observed in daily life there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RlG4b3LV9o

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com