Chef Work

Kevin O'Hagan

Jun 20, 2014
Hi Guys im new to this site , im Scottish from Glasgow and living in Santiago, Im a Chef and im interested in working in Punta Cana in one of the 5 star resorts i have my cv ready if anyone knows of resorts in Punta Cana hiring chefs fully qualified with plenty of experience in fine dining. thanks anyone in advance for help

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
I would never recommend to anyone that the come to the DR if they need to work. Perhaps there is a different standard at Punta Cana resorts, but the salary you would get in most places would not be worth your while.

Kevin O'Hagan

Jun 20, 2014
i want work more so i can have the experience in working in a toip resort like the Hard Rock in Punta Cana the salary is not the main thing for me , i have money its more about me experiencing it for my cv and my self .

May 29, 2006
A school trained chef who aspires to work in a *top resort* like Hard Rock Cafe? What kind of culinary school did you go to?

Kevin O'Hagan

Jun 20, 2014
its not the that its the hard Rock cafe i want to work in , its a 5 star resort in the caribeean its something different to have on the cv and a different experience, i know the restauarnts here in general are not of the standard i was working in London, im also doing some writing on a comedy which is based around restaurants and chefs and i want to have some experience of kitchens in resorts as well for part of my research.

DR_Guy

Bronze
Feb 17, 2010
Didn't have anything in mind. But saw a show on renting a chef for your party and thought it was pretty kewl. I live in the Maimon (Bonao) and well, the restauarants are that great. Might be kind of kewl to throw down a dinner party for a few friends.

May 29, 2006
You sound like someone who prob has a nice Shun knife and can make the seven mother sauces. But good luck writing. I did like the BBC series Whites with Alan Davies. It's on HULU if you can get it.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009