Avoiding The Dreaded Chick V....Mosquito Coils

BarAndGrillGuy

Jul 23, 2014
I just picked up a pack of 10 mosquito coils at Janets for 22 pesos. I've never used them before. Does anyone have any feedback on them ? ? ?.....I thought they might come in handy in the bedroom just in case as a backup. I have screens on all my windows and no AC so I do keep the door open a little each evening before I crash. I do a mosquito check before I hit the hay...but you never know where they may be hiding prior to them entering "Attack mode".

Toxic ?.
Waste of $$$
Effective?.
A Dream Come True for 22 pesos

You now the old saying....."ounce of prevention = lb of cure"...blah..blah..blah

W...............

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
very low range. i place a burning coil under the table when using computer. if you have a small bedroom you may use two of those but the smell may be noticeable.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
Yes, coils will work for an hour or so as they burn. They are good for under a table etc. They do smell and I am sure they are toxic. But...

Probably a fan on you as you sleep, on high, will work best for sleeping. The mosquitos usually cannot fly against the strong current of air.

But remember these are daytime biters... so do not forget the bug spray and carry it with you,

I am sure that the young guys who wash windows and shine shoes will soon start businesses of spraying tourists with bug spray for 20 pesos..

or they should.

not much money in shoe shining flip flops.

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast