Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Claro at a Crawl

  1. #1
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Claro at a Crawl

    Anyone else having slow speeds from Claro? I'm getting about 0.30mbps doing a speedtest. Been going on for most of the afternoon here in Santiago.

  2. #2
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7,431
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I'm with Claro and getting a little over 8mb...........
    No problems with Claro's d/l, but problems with a couple of sites I download from.............

    B in Santiago

  3. #3
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    825
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Here in a Bomba in Santiago I am getting a 5 gb download on the free Claro wifi

  4. #4
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,115
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amp View Post
    Anyone else having slow speeds from Claro? I'm getting about 0.30mbps doing a speedtest. Been going on for most of the afternoon here in Santiago.
    It would help to know where you are in-country.

  5. #5
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amp View Post
    Anyone else having slow speeds from Claro? I'm getting about 0.30mbps doing a speedtest. Been going on for most of the afternoon here in Santiago.
    Quote Originally Posted by jsimonson0 View Post
    It would help to know where you are in-country.
    My guess is Santiago.

  6. Likes tommeyers liked this post
  7. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,115
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    D'oh! My bad...

  8. Likes waytogo liked this post
  9. #7
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derfish View Post
    Don't know how to do a speed test, but my Claro fiber optic internet connection here in Puerto Plata seems faster than usual this week end past.
    Der Fish
    Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test is pretty good and considered the standard I imagine.

    Mine is back to normal but last afternoon/evening it was terrible up until this morning. Not sure what was causing the blockage.

  10. #8
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7,431
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Derfish View Post
    Don't know how to do a speed test, but my Claro fiber optic internet connection here in Puerto Plata seems faster than usual this week end past.
    Der Fish
    This should help.........

    SpeedOf.Me, HTML5 Speed Test | Non Flash/Java Broadband Speed Test

    Mide tu velocidad - Claro

    lol....didn't see amp had poster a link already......now you have 3......

    B in Santiago

  11. #9
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    34,389
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    We've been having problems with Claro DSL for 6 weeks now. Seems the local center cannot provide enough bandwidth for the local growth.

    Our problem hasn't been speed. It's been server connections either timing out or not being found, both symptoms of under capacity.

    We learned that Claro has increased local capacity a little but not a lot-an additional 10mb-and things are better. But as more are connected I expect problems once again.

    Talking to Claro internet customer service is like talking to a box of Legos & Tinkertoys. If it weren't for inside info, we'd be going ballistic.

  12. #10
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cobraboy View Post
    Talking to Claro internet customer service is like talking to a box of Legos & Tinkertoys. If it weren't for inside info, we'd be going ballistic.
    I got very lucky today. I spoke with someone named Francisco at Claro Tech Support and we troubleshot the situation. This is the first time anyone over the phone at Claro has been even remotely helpful.

    After about 15-20 minutes we figured out it was my router. It's going bad and isn't able to handle the data. Unfortunately I have to use the Claro modem/router that was supplied on installation which does not provide signal throughout my apartment. Now I'll wait for Amazon to deliver to Miami and I can update you all and let you know if I got charged the under $200 tax from Aduanas.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •