Questions about Teaching in DR

S

Shecky

A friend of mine in the DR has suggested I teach there (more specifically Santo Domingo). I currently live in the states and am entertaining the idea. I have a master's degree in teaching with a background in social studies and special education. I wanted to get a feel of what I might expect; such as salary, differences in customs (discipline, procedure, expectations, rigor), and anything else an America thinking about teaching in the DR might want to consider. Thanks.

tink23

Jul 15, 2008
Salaries vary widely. If you want something somewhat equivalent, then you have very few options. Carol Morgan school in Santo Domingo is your best bet, but there may be a waiting list. Google it to find out more specifics.

tommeyers

On Vacation!
Jan 2, 2012
I live in Santiago
While you are looking on the employment/income side of the equation begin to look at the living side too. Costs, housing, transportation, healthcare,, food, ... You will find many discussions about those on DR1. Use them with info. From other sources. It is different to move from the us to Dr than from one us location to another us location; more different than any us to us move you could consider. Not all bad just all different.

gandolf50

Apr 17, 2011
Also check with other teachers in the area to see if they are getting paid. In some areas paychecks are six months behind or more. It seems paying teachers is not high on the priority list for this government!

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
Also check with other teachers in the area to see if they are getting paid. In some areas paychecks are six months behind or more. It seems paying teachers is not high on the priority list for this government!