American Salon Opening Looking for helpers

A

AmericanGlamBar1

My name is India, I am opening an American Hair Salon in Sosua. i am new to dominican republic and dr1. I do not speak much Spanish but I am looking for a woman, prefferably dominican who can speak english and interested in hair as I am a liscensed cosmetoligist. Please respond if this is you and looking for work as well as an opportunity to build and become a hair stylist and one day manager. Thanks

barker1964

Silver
Apr 1, 2009
LOL. This is going to get very interesting. An American opening a hair salon in the Dominican Republic.........And has no command of the language. Recipe for disaster. Before you do that please talk to the EX-Pats in the area for advise.

Aguaita29

Silver
Jul 27, 2011
I don't see what the problem is! She could cater exclusively to gringas. She also understands their needs and wishes better than a local salon.

Apr 13, 2011
What are you paying for someone who has experience with hair and hair salons and speaks English pretty well? I may know someone possibly.

Aug 21, 2007
I think there is opportunity in this. One person who successfully owned a salon for ex-pats passed away within the past year. Since then, many of us have been looking for someone to fill the gap.

~ Lindsey

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
LK,
my wife has been going to Sto Domingo since no more Sosua..... great place that she claims is equivalent to her favorites in PHL nad NYC......... at about 1/4 to 1/3 the price for cut and color

hers was about 3,000 if I remember.... less than 4000 for sure

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
LOL. This is going to get very interesting. An American opening a hair salon in the Dominican Republic.........And has no command of the language. Recipe for disaster. Before you do that please talk to the EX-Pats in the area for advise.

Triple that.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
What happened to the salon that catered to expats a few years ago?