DR Leaves Inter-American Court of Human Rights

Do you agree with the Constitutional Tribunal's decision to remove the DR?

• Yes

Votes: 26 83.9%
  • No

Votes: 2 6.5%
  • Not sure

Votes: 3 9.7%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The Constitutional Tribunal (CT) voted today sentence 256-14, effectively declaring unconstitutional the method used to sign the country into the Inter-American Court of Human Rights in 1999. The result of this is that the Dominican Republic no longer forms part of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.

Do you agree with the CT decision?

What consequences do you think the country might face in the international arena?

What consequences do you think this will have within the country?

The reason the DR left the court was due to the unfair ruling of roughly a week ago giving the DR government 6 months to change its constitution and annul the CT sentence 163-13 that initiated the regularization and naturalization process for illegal and undocumented foreigners. All foreigners that are have not started the regularization process by May 2015 will be subject to deportation.

LISTIN DIARIO article (in Spanish): Rep?blica Dominicana ya no es miembro de la CIDH

May 12, 2005
I agree, right thing to do. Why put up with another outside group trying to interfere with your nation's sovereignty?Again, why does the world want to make Haiti's problems and issues the fault of the Dominican Republic?

barker1964

Silver
Apr 1, 2009
I agree, right thing to do. Why put up with another outside group trying to interfere with your nation's sovereignty?Again, why does the world want to make Haiti's problems and issues the fault of the Dominican Republic?

The world want's the Dominican Republic to be the "SCAPEGOAT" for all of Haiti's ill's. That way the can sleep better at night.

Riva_31

Bronze
Apr 1, 2013
San Pedro de Macoris