Why Are These Places Still Named Like That?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
One of the more interesting aspects of the birth of Haiti is that, given the country literally arose from slavery, the names of many places were changed in order to 'erase' the mark of the French. Cap Francais (originally called Cabo Santo by Columbus and then Gu?rico by the Spanish, this last one was due to that region being the kingdom of the Taino cacique Guacanagarix, hence Gu?rico for short) became Cap Haitien and many other places got their names changed. The case of Port-au-Prince is quite interesting because the French called the place Port-au-Prince and then they changed the name to Port Republicaine. To "symbolize" the end of French rule, Dessalines et al changed the name to the original one which, unbeknownst to him and his aids, was the original French name of the town.

And there are those places that still have their original French names such as Jeremie, Jacmel (the Spanish named this town Y?quimo in honor of the Tainos that lived there and the French simply "Frenchified" -if that's even a word- the original Spanish name.) The towns Haiti took from the DR also had their original names "Frenchified" such as Hincha became Hinche, San Miguel became Saint-Michel, and San Rafael became Saint-Raphael; other towns conserved their original Spanish names such as Las Caobas which became Lascahobas.