Im a plumber looking to retired soon in DR

lplumberman

Nov 19, 2014
If i wanted to keep busy by doing odd jobs [ plumbing ] 1st is there a need for a good plumber ? what could i charge ? ill be moving around Sosua

drSix

Silver
Oct 13, 2013
Welcome.

Typically people, like me, have a handyman. This is a Dominican who has basic knowledge of plumbing, electrical, concrete ect. to come fix their houses when they have problems. There are a lot of these people around at varying competency levels. Most jobs are bid out. You tell them what they are willing to pay, they tell you what they are willing to take and you meet somewhere in the middle. It depends on the job, and on the Gringo.

I wouldn't think you'd get much work doing the basic stuff, or small repairs. Plumbing isn't really to code, or anything fancy down here. Maybe, just maybe you could specialize in pool systems, or diagnostics. I've had problems with proper grading and ventilation, which is common. Or maybe expats building higher dollar houses who want an expert.

I wouldn't even attempt anything like that until you've been here for a year. You'll need a Dominican helper to find the parts and tools you need and not get Gringo taxed! How's your Spanish?

My gardener/handy man/pool guy/plumber/electrician/gringo tax adviser/drinking buddy makes US$ 1.70 an hour. But, I have to watch what he does. He fixes things the Dominican way with spare parts and and cement. I want to do it the expensive American way, which isn't always possible. We meet in the middle and it works out well.

I'd probably pay a good Dominican plumber US$2.50- $5 an hour for a complicated project or diagnostics.

I'd probably pay a expat plumber $10 an hour to help design something new, or fix something no one else can

But, I can do most of it myself and understand the basics.

lplumberman

Nov 19, 2014