Renting an Apt --Paying for Electricity

MorenoGringo

Nov 22, 2014
Hi, Im new to DR1 (although I've been sporadically reading the posts for over a year). I just rented an apartment in Zona Colonial and I must admit that mi espanol todavia no es perfecto. But when the lady explained that I had to pay for my own electricity and approximately how much it would cost a month, my spanish failed me.

Cam anyone explain the process of getting electricity. How do i get it turned on? How much would the bill be roughly for a studio (I have an AC unit but don't plan to use it. This isn't my first rodeo in the tropics). Thanks guys.

Luperon

Who empowered China's crime against humanity?
Jun 28, 2004
Cant help you on the details, but in general your main concern after the turn on is others stealing electricity from you, they can be genius in their methods.

karlheinz

Oct 2, 2006
Assuming you have a lease or rental agreement, take that and your passport to the CEDEE office on Ave. Independencia, they will have you fill out a form that guesstimates your electricity useage - then you will need to pay a small deposit and they will have a crew sent

kampinge

Jan 18, 2012
If you rent without electricity the normal way is to take a contract with the electric company. Ask your landlord where you have to go and take your renting contract with you. The contract will e at least Peso 1300 depending how many electric you will use. Then you get a invoice ones a month depending how much you will use.
Thats the legal way, I would recommend.

The other way is stealing electricity, and what I read here before their are a lot of experts who can give you their advises
Hi, Im new to DR1 (although I've been sporadically reading the posts for over a year). I just rented an apartment in Zona Colonial and I must admit that mi espanol todavia no es perfecto. But when the lady explained that I had to pay for my own electricity and approximately how much it would cost a month, my spanish failed me.