New to Here and to the DR...

ScriptySandy

Nov 26, 2014
Hi there,

I am Sandy - from Vancouver BC Canada, I work in the film industry as a script supervisor. I am making my first trip to the DR in two weeks, to Sosua. I booked it not knowing much of anything about the town other than I had been looking at real estate in the DR and liked what I saw there so thought I'd come and check out the area and have a look at some properties for sale (with an eye to spending 4-6 months of the year in the Caribbean once I semi-retire).

So I am here to ask some questions and hopefully make some friends.

Thanks and I am looking forward to maybe meeting some of you in person soon!

Sandy

Cdn_Gringo

Gold
Apr 29, 2014
Welcome. IMHO that's not a good idea. Unless you have buckets of money to tie up for a very long time, you should come here and live for a year before even considering buying real estate. That is if you are planning on moving here in the future. If you are just looking for vacation property to be used from time to time, there is lots you can rent on an ongoing basis or month to month.

It is very easy to buy here but very difficult to sell when you want to or need to. Most Dominicans can't afford to buy your property and most foreigners know better than to buy your property unless they have buckets of money and don't care.

What you saw on the internet about property is most likely not an accurate representation of the reality. The internet lies and deceives. A picture of a house that looks wonderful may have been taken 5 years ago. That type of thing.

You do not yet have the knowledge or understanding of the DR, it's people , or the practicalities of living here. Real Estate is the last thing you should be thinking about on your first visit here or anywhere for that matter.

Friends, however, are cheap and plentiful.

the gorgon

Platinum
Sep 16, 2010