Rumor About the University Given by DR to Haiti

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
There are some rumors going around regarding the Henri Christophe University which was built by the Dominican government as a gift to Haiti and as an act of solidarity due to the disaster of the 2010 earthquake. The cost of building and furnishing the university was completely paid for by Dominican taxpayers.

According to the rumors the university was sacked and is basically useless. Even the toilets were either taken or destroyed, the doors, the persians; the computers, the desks and chairs, basically everything that was either portable or could be ripped off the building has been ripped and taken away.

Hopefully someone might be able to expand on what happened or prove the rumors wrong.

the gorgon

Platinum
Sep 16, 2010
There are some rumors going around regarding the Henri Christophe University which was built by the Dominican government as a gift to Haiti and as an act of solidarity due to the disaster of the 2010 earthquake. The cost of building and furnishing the university was completely paid for by Dominican taxpayers.

According to the rumors the university was sacked and is basically useless. Even the toilets were either taken or destroyed, the doors, the persians; the computers, the desks and chairs, basically everything that was either portable or could be ripped off the building has been ripped and taken away.

Hopefully someone might be able to expand on what happened or prove the rumors wrong.

why am i not surprised?

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
Why am I not surprised?

Mr. AE has always had a big issue with that university, he was very offended when the Haitians changed its name from Juan Bosch University to Henri Christophe, the man who murdered so many Dominicans in 1805.

An excerpt from Wiki: