Trip to San Jose De Ocoa

I am planning on making a trip to San Jose De Ocoa in the next few weeks I would like to know does anyone know the condition of the road from Constanza area down to San Jose? I am hearing that it is in pretty good shape and recently re done? Has anyone traveled this route recently? I am also looking for a decent hotel in the town for a night or 2. Appreciate any info thanks.

Aug 6, 2006
Cobraboy and Frank 12 can give you advice. The road from Ocoa to Cruce de Ocoa is new and well paved. I think that the road from Ocoa to Constanza would require a 4X4 or perhaps a trail bike, but I have no personal knowledge of it.

VJS

Bronze
Sep 19, 2010
I drove some of that stretch (from Constanza down to SJ) in the summer in a RAV4, to get to a waterfall 10 miles south of Constanza. I know a couple of dry riverbeds I would rather drive than that road, never again!

frank12

Gold
Sep 6, 2011
Here is most of it...it's both stunning and beautiful:

[video=youtube_share;TYjWvyjLgx4]http://youtu.be/TYjWvyjLgx4[/video]

nispero

Nov 7, 2014
... I would like to know does anyone know the condition of the road from Constanza area down to San Jose? I am hearing that it is in pretty good shape and recently re done? Has anyone traveled this route recently? I am also looking for a decent hotel in the town for a night or 2. Appreciate any info thanks.

Hi badpiece

Did that road the other way ... from San Jose to Constanza in mid December 2014 on a motoconcho. Road is unpaved but very beautiful. Google for 18?51'13.7"N 70?43'22.9"W and zoom out a bit. This will show you a (grey) shortcut of the (otherwise yellow) 41. You might want to to take that shortcut, as it is in a much better state than the original road arround the valley closer to Aquas blancas. As long as you avoid the part of the 42 close to Aquas blancas (by taking the shortcut) the road will be ok for a vehicle with high ground clearance.