Young American/colombian wants to move to DR to teach english.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mm530

Dec 28, 2014
I visited this week and fell in love with the vibe of the country even though I only saw Santo Domingo. I would like to move and either teach English or work in hospitality. I am a native English Speaker. I have a Bachelor's degree in Hotel Management and have worked in 5 star hotels in NYC, Miami & Boston. I have no children or commitments holding me back.

Can anyone offer me advice ?? I plan on going again in a month and wanted to perhaps seek employment in hotels or the like. What would be the best way to do this.

pauleast

*** I love DR1 ***
Jan 29, 2012
You worked in a 5 star in NY and Boston like the Ritz and you want to work in the hospitality industry here, and you report that you are single with no kids. Smart man. Live here and enjoy for awhile... and wear a condom.

msmfgf

Jul 12, 2013
most hotels here are foreign owned by international chains. i suggest you start your search with the owners, not local management.

normally i advise coming to the dr WITH money, not to MAKE money.

good luck!

LTSteve

Gold
Jul 9, 2010
I visited this week and fell in love with the vibe of the country even though I only saw Santo Domingo. I would like to move and either teach English or work in hospitality. I am a native English Speaker. I have a Bachelor's degree in Hotel Management and have worked in 5 star hotels in NYC, Miami & Boston. I have no children or commitments holding me back.

Can anyone offer me advice ?? I plan on going again in a month and wanted to perhaps seek employment in hotels or the like. What would be the best way to do this.