Local Drivers License

jong

Jan 2, 2002
I was wondering what was the easiest way of obtaining a DR drivers license

Thanks

Eddy

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
First, you must have a Residence and Cedula. Banco de Reservas will sell you the forms. You will need a blood test "Type" and take a written test (In spanish). The people are very helpful if you don't understand certain Q's. You are then issued a "Temporary licence". 30 days later you go back for a simple driving test and will be issued a permanent one.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
Eddie says to get a Cedula and a Residencia like they are no big deal,they are a big deal! There is not a big reason that I know of to get a dominican drivers license. I have been driving here for 6 years without one! Been stopped maybe 15 times for varios "offenses" showed my USA<Massachussetts> license and went on my merry way! Why do you feel the "need" to have a dominican license? Criss

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
If you have a foreign license it will be valid for 90 days. If you go in an out of the country at least every three months, then you have no need to get a Dominican license. If you will be here for more than 90 days you should go through with the process.

Note that there is no need for you to become a Dominican resident (cedula and residencia). What you need to do is go to the corresponding foreign consulate and get a certificate that your driver's license is legal. Then you need to legalize that certificate at the Ministry of Foreign Relations (Cancilleria) on Independencia Avenue. Then you take that to the Direccion General de Transporte Terrestre (DGTT) at the Ministry of Public Works and they will change your foreign license for a Dominican one.

Why bother? If you are involved in a crash, the insurance will not pay as you will be driving illegally. That is if you have been in the country more than 90 days. For more information, call Tel. 565-2811 Ext. 7013

Virgil

Jan 2, 2002