African Influences on Dominican Spanish

Lucas61

Jun 13, 2014
retired English teacher (30 years)
I'm an amateur, long interested in the African influenced languages of the (black) diaspora. I would like to point out two shared features commonly existing in AAV (African-American Vernacular) but also, suprisingly, existing in Dominican Spanish
and Haitian Krey?l.

The first example is the deletion of terminal consonants and the second is the deletion of medial consonants. Here is an American English example: ?His friend sells insurance.? in Standard English becomes in AAV ?His [fren] [sell_] [in-shoo-ance.]
The terminal ?d? in friend is deleted, the medial ?r? in the second syllable of insurance is deleted; however, [He sell_], minus the ?s? is also the correct AAV conjugation, so I'm not certain if both the conjugation and the consonant termination rules apply here.

Now let's look at and compare the same examples in Spanish of the Dominican Republic. The D.R. is contiguous to Haiti, and Haiti's African influences can be found diffused into various aspects of Dominican culture.

The interjection in Standard Spanish ??Es la verdad!? is spoken as ??E_ la verda_!? This is the same final consonant deletion as found in AAV. And here is an example of medial consonant deletion: Standard Spanish ?Estoy acostado.? is pronounced as ?Estoy [acos-TA-O]? the ?ta-o? as a one syllable dipthong deleting the ?d? just as [in-shoo-ance] deletes the ?r? in AAV.