Are Dominicans taking yolas back from Puerto Rico?

donP

Dec 14, 2008

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Last year there was an article in one of the Dominican newspapers about the amount of Dominicans leaving PR. All a Dominican has to do is go to the Dominican consulate and ask for a carta de ruta and the Dominican government immediately buys for them a one way ticket to any Dominican airport that has a direct flight from PR or wherever. They can even enter the DR without a passport as the carta de ruta is more than enough.

More Dominicans are probably leaving PR for mainland USA.

The illegal yola traffic to PR has also decreased considerably, and most of the people the US Coast Guard is stopping in those endevours tend to be Cubans and Haitians, especially Haitians. Not many years ago most of the people that attempted to enter PR via yolas from DR was Dominicans.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
You can travel with an ID between US territory, don't you? There's no clearing immigration.

ID, sure. What ID do illegals have?

Passengers 18 years of age or older are required to have a valid, current U.S. federal or state-issued photo ID that contains name, date of birth, gender, expiration date and a tamper-resistant feature for travel to or from a U.S. Territory (Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands). Expired documents are not accepted. The following IDs are accepted:

U.S. passport
U.S. passport card
DHS "Trusted Traveler" cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
U.S. Military ID
Permanent Resident Card
Border Crossing Card
DHS-designated enhanced driver's license
Drivers' licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by a Department of Motor Vehicles (or equivalent) that meets REAL ID benchmarks (All states are currently in compliance.)
A Native American Tribal Photo ID
An airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)