Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    34,568
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Claro Cellphone Thievery

    yesterday i left my phone at home, and went to a mini market to top up my minutes. i had a balance of 21 pesos, so it was high time i did. so, i added 200 pesos. i never got near the phone since i bought the minutes, not even to answer the thing, since nobody called.

    well, i just checked it, and my balance is 148 pesos. from 221 to 148, without making a call.

    i wonder if anyone else has had similar experiences.

  2. #2
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12,185
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You payed taxes

  3. Likes TP666 liked this post
  4. #3
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,881
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    When Claro flashes these so called "offers" on your phone you must be careful not to punch yes or Si. They make you punch no about 10 times or more. If you pressed Si by mistake you are toast.

  5. Likes Harleysrock, BermudaRum, j&t's future liked this post
  6. #4
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    831
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    My experience with prepaid Claro and Orange is that they steal your money slowly but surely, - for example, via some useless info messages you never subscribed to but which cost 7 pesos a pop, or by serving only 20% of the data plan traffic but claiming that you used it 100% already, or by simply taking money from your balance without any excuse. It's all part of the Dominican charm though...

  7. #5
    Gold
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7,807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Even the phones are thieves in disguise.

  8. #6
    Platinum
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    22,743
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Yes, I have heard of it.... I never agree to the numerous 'offers' I get

  9. #7
    Silver
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,063
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Or you havent switched off " data network mode " and your apps are " upgrading "/ doing their app stuff... just a thought

  10. Likes InsanelyOne liked this post
  11. #8
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,150
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Even two or three megs of data without a data plan will run your balance down to zero ... this is the most likely scenario that happened in your case. Data mode not turned off.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •