Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Thinking about moving to the DR

I was born in the DR, but I came to the U.S. as a child, and from my perspective, I'm more American than Dominican, and I've only visited only a few times.

My father moved back to Santo Domingo 5 years ago with his retirement, and he fully owns his apartment that has both a power generator, power inverter, and a gas heater for warm water. Air conditioning is in the bedroom, but he told me that power is so expensive that he only allows it to be used at night when sleeping or when the generator is on. I'm allergic to mosquitos, but I've heard that I would eventually build some immunities. In essence, the things I take for granted is mostly there, but I would have to make a few sacrifices.

I have my degree in Economics with more than 5 years of experience as an Analyst for a major corporation here in the U.S.

So in essence, if I take my father's offer to live with him, what are my job prospects? Is it better to start my own business? I'm thinking that I could transfer my 401k to an IRA, and as long as I set aside money to pay the American Income Tax and IRA while working in the DR, I could potentially still retire.

If I'm successful, I would eventually like to buy land and eventually build a house in a cheap land. I was told that I could buy land for around $30k USD if it's outside the capital.

I can speak, read, and write in Spanish; However, it's far from prefect. I mispronounce a lot of words and my accident is more formal sounding than Dominican Spanish.

My biggest reason to live there is to be close to family

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

I would like to be close to family, but I'm also afraid that I may not adapt to the Dominican way of life.

Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like