public education

nancyh

Jan 13, 2002
Can anyone tell me how to contact by e-mail a Department of Education here in DR? Is there a department that actually runs education for non-private schools? I know that private schools abound - and I think I know why. I have many years of teaching experience and many years of university education about teaching. While living here I decided to volunteer my time and expertise at a local school.
I so enjoy my time at that school - the children and teachers welcome me with love and trust. I receive far more than I give.
But, my heart is heavy each time I leave because these children deserve so much more than the hovel that is called a school.
No doors, electricity, toilets that do not flush, no running water, NO BOOKS, NO BOOKS, NO BOOKS, next to no supplies.
It seems that the fair-skinned Dominican rich kids have a fair education when it comes to resources and trained educators. That is because their parents pay for a private school - they have no trust or beliefs in the public education system in this country either.
But the poor do not have access to a proper education at all. I want to challenge those in government who are supposed to offer education to their citizens.
Let's start with the basics: flush toilets, drinking water that is not stored in rusty drums, and books and supplies.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
Nancy,Hello! Is that "Coffee" you should smell?