Am I Reading This Wrong?

amp

Bronze
Oct 5, 2010
Just want to make sure I'm not insane and I still am able to read.

PGZnaVGm.jpg

Means we gave RD$17,000 deposit which will be returned once we end the contract. Right?

Landlord is saying one one of the halves from the deposit applies to the first month's rent. We have receipts which show we have paid every month of rent and if what the landlord says that is the case (half of the deposit is first month's rent) then we are actually a month ahead on paying rent.

We're just trying to live out the deposit so we don't owe and the landlord doesn't owe us, but even this is a problem!

charlise

Bronze
Nov 1, 2012
And what will the landlord do if the renter does not pay his last month and tell the landlord to use the deposit as rent payment ??

Especially if it's the last month and if the renter is moving out... What then ???

amp

Bronze
Oct 5, 2010
I'm no lawyer, but it says the 17K is a deposit to be returned to the renter at the end of the contract.

If half of that was supposed to be a deposit, the contract should have said that.

BTW, it also says you can't use the deposit as a rent payment. In other words, you can't live out the deposit.

So, you want to claim one part of the contract, but ignore another part? Can't have it both ways.

You are absolutely correct. It does specify we cannot use the deposit towards rent.

We're not in agreement on what the actual deposit was and how much is left of said deposit.

Eleutheria

Jun 23, 2015
I have noticed that "math" is not a strong point here. Ending a rental contract amiably also seems to be somewhat rare; I say this as I am going through the same thing with my landlords.
Their "math" works out just fine for me, despite an attempt to only return half my deposit; their "math" is so bad that they think they are returning half but are actually returning it all. So mum's the word on my end!!!