Xoom & Caribe Express

drSix

Silver
Oct 13, 2013
I've been using Xoom for two years now. I do monthly transfers, and pick up my money at Caribe Express. I can either send it to myself, or my wife. Never had a problem with it.

Until last month. I did what I always do, did the transfer online and headed to Caribe Express. Only they told me they couldn't find the transfer. I always get an email from Xoom saying "Your money is ready for pickup", and I had. Never had this problem before.

I waited an hour, went back, and still no record of my funds.

So, I called Xoom, cancelled the transaction, and resent it to my wife. She was able to go pick up the money.

This month, I did the transfer to her, she went to pick it up and had the same problem I had the previous month.

I email Xoom, and get a response from them saying that Caribe Express wants more information on me before they will process the transfer. They wanted a copy of my passport, a copy of my pay stub, and my bank account information including my last 30 days of transactions.

I was unwilling to do this, I don't want Caribe Express having this information. So, I just canceled it.

I assume this is due to the new banking rules and sanctions the US is putting on foreign banks and people living abroad. I can't escape the freedom of my mother country, even though I don't live or work there!

Anyone else had this problem? Did you give them the info?

Uzin

Bronze
Oct 26, 2005
I'm surprised nobody gave any answers. I think the info is usually required by the sender company, like Xoom or Western Union - not the Caribe Express. Also if it exceeds certain amount per month (or it goes on for a long time).

Perhaps you should confirm that, I wouldn't be happy giving that info to Caribe Express, but Xoom or WS are large companies with a lot of customers, so a bit better I guess... !

avi8or57

Nov 25, 2010
Be careful!