Junot Diaz...

4*4*4

Bronze
May 4, 2015
We just saw Juno Diaz speak. He is brilliant and on the right side of the issue. His books are wonderfully entertaining.

rfp

Gold
Jul 5, 2010
We just saw Juno Diaz speak. He is brilliant and on the right side of the issue. His books are wonderfully entertaining.

I have yet to see any brilliance from him. He has an engaging writing style but his life perspective is seriously misguided

4*4*4

Bronze
May 4, 2015
I have yet to see any brilliance from him. He has an engaging writing style but his life perspective is seriously misguided

The literary world is filled with brilliant writers that you may find eccentric and outside the mainstream.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A couple of weeks ago I discovered this interview (in Spanish) of a very young Junot D?az. That he can hardly speak Spanish says a lot about the perspective from which he evaluates many DR-related issues, and probably explains why he's often off the mark. Needless to say that I think most Dominican criticisms of him are warranted.

[video=youtube;2IHUsjhSz2c]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2IHUsjhSz2c[/video]

DRob

Gold
Aug 15, 2007

In what way? I like his work, even though he can occasionally overdo the references to popular culture. It's engaging, and a lot more approachable than Morrison or others who take their work way too seriously. It is, after all, just a story.

mofongoloco

Silver
Feb 7, 2013