end of year wages

granca

Bronze
Aug 20, 2007
Our gardener is paid monthly, at the end of the year (Christmas), legally should we pay him 2 months or 3 months wages ?

Jan 17, 2009
You should give me an extra month of salary, if he worked for the entire year, else you can pro-rate it.

However, if he's not on a salary and he's hired to come once a week as an independent contractor, I don't believe you owe him an extra salary. I believe it applies to employees only--whom you have registered and are paying into the social security system here (which includes health benefits)

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Every Dominican worker will expect this extra months Christmas bonus payment regardless of if they are legally entitled to it.

Mauricio

Gold
Nov 18, 2002
Every Dominican worker will expect this extra months Christmas bonus payment regardless of if they are legally entitled to it.

Well, not really, the gardener that comes to mow our grass monthly is not getting any Christmas salary, he's providing a service for which I pay him, he's not my employee. The gardeners who come take care of the common area of our Residencial: same thing.

Our maids are ofcourse not officially employees but they do get their double salary, but any independent contractor / iguala that comes regularly is not getting any double pay.

And definitely not three months. If he IS your employee you would owe him vacation too, but that's 15 working days, based on a 43 hour work week. So if he works 1 day per week for you, you owe him about 3 working days of vacation, after a full year.

Kipling333

Bronze
Jan 12, 2010