Photographer visiting for first time

JasonMN

Feb 3, 2016
Hi everyone,

First off I want to say what a great resource this forum has been leading up to my trip to the DR. I have gone through a ton of posts on here and appreciate everyone of you!

I am a photographer here in the US and am making the trip with my girlfriend. I am a photographer of urban architecture and of historical properties. Properties that may be vacant or ruins that hold memories from the past.

1. I have read all the "horror" stories on Trip Advisor about driving in DR. I understand the risks, and I will still be renting a car. This has been my biggest concern since reading a huge Trip Advisor thread deterring me not to drive. While driving may be a mess compared to what I am used to at home, it is my only way to visit the island the best I can. I am not huge on tour groups and like to do things a little more independant.

2. On the subject of driving, I have learned there has been some massive improvements in the public infrastructure and there is a nice highway that goes from Punta Cana to Santo Domingo. Is there a decent map of the highway or road system thats online I can print out?

3. Being a photographer, one of my concerns is always the perception of people and the privacy of them. I also don't want to shoot anything that locals would perceive me as exploiting their land or culture since this is not my goal. However, my subjects at times can be places like former resorts that are closed, etc. How are photographers perceived? If I did run across something that may be closed or vacant, is there any danger involved in shooting some photos?

4. How are Americans and tourists really perceived in the DR? I know very little spanish and have tried to learn as much as I could before my trip.