Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,219
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Playing pool with Dominicanos

    So, I've been trying my best at the local pool hall... I've learned a few things.

    They play slop. It's doesn't matter how many rails or balls it bounces off of, if it goes in, then it is good.

    Last pocket. Some times it is called, some times it is last ball in.

    They use their crooked ass tables to their advantage!

    There are some more, I'll remember maņana. I just got whooped, and am a little confused at the moment!

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,256
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You too? A guy I was playing thought I was trying to cheat him when I spotted one of his balls that he sent flying off the table. Then there was some crazy rule about having to get the eight ball in a special (different for each player) pocket.

  3. #3
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,219
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wuarhat View Post
    You too? A guy I was playing thought I was trying to cheat him when I spotted one of his balls that he sent flying off the table. Then there was some crazy rule about having to get the eight ball in a special (different for each player) pocket.
    Yea, I am still confused about that. Apparently, you always call the last pocket. And your call can change depending on whether or not you are winning.

  4. #4
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    966
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Just let them win, compliment them, it's their moment to shine when they beat the white guy....

  5. #5
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    119
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drSix View Post
    Yea, I am still confused about that. Apparently, you always call the last pocket. And your call can change depending on whether or not you are winning.
    My general experience has been that if your last ball goes into a corner pocket, that pocket is where you must sink the 8 ball... with the exception of the side pockets. If you sink it in the side pocket than your opponent gets to choose with of the corner pockets you need to use.

  6. #6
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    598
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    i thought this was in the clown bin

  7. Likes waytogo liked this post
  8. #7
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,219
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I've sobered up, and am still confused over the last pocket thing.

    I hate playing last pocket (or call the 8) anyways. But, Table was empty except for one of my balls, and the 8. I put my ball in, then put the 8 in the same pocket. Assuming we were playing last pocket. We'll my fren told me HE WON because the pocket I put the 8 in was HIS pocket. He had called it. So, I can't have the same pocket as him apparently.

    Oh, and scratching on the 8 ball isn't an automatic loss.

  9. #8
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    224
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    In DR is called Negrita, here are some basic rules.

    If you are going to hit the borders with the cue ball, you have to call it, or it is 'sucio el tiro'.
    Sometimes you have to call on which hole you are going to get the ball in.
    If the ball is sent off the table, you just put it back in the middle.
    You get to choose the pocket for the 8-ball, but you can't change it.

  10. Likes bonao99 liked this post
  11. #9
    Silver
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,867
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Great thread.

  12. #10
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,219
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IEatTravelnCode View Post
    In DR is called Negrita, here are some basic rules.

    If you are going to hit the borders with the cue ball, you have to call it, or it is 'sucio el tiro'.

    Ohhhh, that rule got me in trouble too.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •