Fish in DR

sayanora

Silver
Feb 22, 2012
Hi guys..

I'm a very amateur fish eater.. just started after 30 years of only eating shrimp/lobster.. On my recent trip to Miami I had some great mahi mahi, red snapper etc but I feel everything here in the DR pales in comparison.. rubbery, weird texture, not great flavor dunno just different. I want to learn to start cooking and eating more but being a fairly decent cook I know it all starts with high quality ingredients..

What I really want to know is what high quality good tasting fish is available in the DR.. I bought mahi mahi but from Bravo frozen but after defrosting it .. it was grey and smelly and I just ended up throwing it away.. I've never cooked fish and really want to get started but if the raw ingredients aren't good enough quality here I won't even bother..

Thanks in advance as always!

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
If you can find the frozen Sea Bass in a blue package try that. Pola has them, but not all the time. No fishy smell.

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006
Stay clear of the frozen imported trash sold in supermarkets. For example, Talapia from Asia is farm raised in ponds and fed pig and chicken excrement. To reduce diseases antibiotics are added to the ponds then the fish are shipped out. There is very little in the way of health inspection os Asian seafood entering the US. You may well imagine what the standards are in the DR. Buy only fresh fish and you will be fine.

jd426

Gold
Dec 12, 2009
Stay clear of the frozen imported trash sold in supermarkets. For example, Talapia from Asia is farm raised in ponds and fed pig and chicken excrement. To reduce diseases antibiotics are added to the ponds then the fish are shipped out. There is very little in the way of health inspection os Asian seafood entering the US. You may well imagine what the standards are in the DR. Buy only fresh fish and you will be fine.

This right here.. very on point..

I agree,