The Polish in Dominican Republic

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Apparently the Dominican Republic has the largest Polish community in the Caribbean.

Does anyone knows how many people form this group? Is it growing? Are they mostly in Punta Cana, Santo Domingo, or somewhere else?

Are the Polish organized with a Polish-Dominican institute as many other groups have or are they dispersed and not united?

Is there a Polish social club somewhere in the country?

I know DV8 is Polish, maybe she knows something about this.

If anyone knows the history of the Polish in Dominican Republic, feel free to share.

Until now I thought Haiti was the country with the greatest connections to Poland, at least historically due to the Polish soldiers that arrived with French General Leclerc in 1802, many of whom stayed in Haiti after the war. To this day the areas where the Polish men settled is peopled by lighter skin Haitians and many, including the darker ones, have blue or green eyes. A silent testament to a little known migration in that side of the island, but I was completely unaware that today its the DR the center of Polish immigration not just on the island, but in the whole Caribbean.

World_Poles_emigration_map_2008.png

Polacos_RD.jpg

http://en.yourpoland.pl/201_polish-diaspora-centres.html

Meemselle

Just A Few Words
Oct 27, 2014
Polish community in DR

If this is the case, I want to know where the pierogi are.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
polish community is pretty much spread out. i know a bunch of people in different locations.

in SD there are quite a few folks who moved to DR in the 70's or 80's, during communism times. there is also a community in the south/east area, from juan dolio to punta cana.

large group lives on the north coast, some in POP, some in sosua.

there are also some second generation polaks whose parents (usually fathers) escaped poland during the war and somehow ended up here.