To Cuba by boat?

Sean77

Jun 17, 2016
Saludos,

I'm interested in going to Santiago de Cuba (or somewhere on the south coast) from the DR by boat in late July. I know there are no ferries and the only options are to charter or hook up with someone with a yacht who's making the trip (one way or return). I'd be happy to crew but I am a novice. I'm Canadian, in good shape (no, I'm not 77), and have been to Cuba many times direct from Canada, including Santiago de Cuba. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
Fathom cruise line goes to Santiago de Cuba from Miami. They also come to Puerto Plata in the DR and fares are heavily discounted atm as they are not getting the take up they expected. Might be worth looking at them. Not quite a yacht mind lol.

Matilda

LTSteve

Gold
Jul 9, 2010
Saludos,

I'm interested in going to Santiago de Cuba (or somewhere on the south coast) from the DR by boat in late July. I know there are no ferries and the only options are to charter or hook up with someone with a yacht who's making the trip (one way or return). I'd be happy to crew but I am a novice. I'm Canadian, in good shape (no, I'm not 77), and have been to Cuba many times direct from Canada, including Santiago de Cuba. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

I doubt you will find anyone sailing to Cuba. I am not sure if anyone would want to chance being in Cuban waters with a private yacht. Cuba is still restricted for the most part. There are authorized flights and cruise lines going into Havana but I don't think private citizens can use their own transportation and I doubt anyone is going to risk having their boat taken by Cuban authorities. You are ahead of the curve. At some point in the not so distant future there will be a ferry from Santo Domingo to Havana but not yet. Cuba is still a very restricted location. Additionally any private boats going to Cuba will be under scrutiny of the US Coast Guard.

Sean77